wizzyrea

23 Things: One blog post to rule them all

In Uncategorized on March 10, 2010 at 8:50 pm

So I haven’t been keeping up all to well with 23Things Kansas. I use all of the tools every day, so that makes it hard to come up with something insightful to say about them on a weekly basis. I’ll try though.

Week 2: Social Networking
I like Facebook and other social networking sites because they let me keep in touch with people that I don’t see often. I like knowing about the lives of people, I like watching my friends’ and family’s kids grow up. I like being able to share things with a group of people I know actually give a rip about what I think. This is why I like social networking. I use it for home, I use it for work. I use it.

Week 3: Online Meetings
Ok, this one I use only because I have to. I really hate webinars. I hate the word “webinar.” I haven’t yet been to a webinar or web meeting that I felt really was productive. I’m a bit of a luddite in this regard.

Exception: IRC meetings. I think text chat only meetings can be very productive, as long as the people involved are familiar with the interface. There is nothing worse than an online meeting where half the time allotted is spent with people saying “I can’t hear you, can you hear me? How about now? Now? How about now?”

Week 4: Photo Sharing
When my son was born my far flung family wanted to see the new bundle of joy, I used the heck out of Flickr and Facebook. I still do. I like sharing photos with friends and family, and I think it’s a great way to make sure your precious photos are stored somewhere besides your house (as a backup).

Week 5: RSS/Feed Readers
You have a blog? Oh you do! Excellent, let me put it in my Google Reader so that I can look at it whenever you have something new. I adore my reader, it lets me go through lots of stories quickly, lets me sort them into useful categories, tag them, share them, oh the joy. I use it for work and for play, for fun and for information.

Week 6: Tagging, Social linking
I’ve been using Delicious since it was brand new, in 2001. I probably have one of the oldest Delicious accounts on the site. The idea that I didn’t have to keep my bookmarks on any particular computer, that I could keep them safely in the cloud… I love this idea. I want to be able to refer to that article anywhere I am, and Delicious lets me do that. It’s great. Love it.

Week 7: Microblogging/Twitter
I was a tough nut to crack re: twitter. I didn’t see the point for a long time. Then, I just kind of “got it” one day… it’s like having a constant connection to everyone around you, even when you’re not together. It’s difficult to explain. Here’s an example:
I was at a show recently, and I used Twitter to see if there were any other tweeters at the same show, and to see if they were as enthusiastic about the music as I was… sure enough, I found (and saw) several other people in the audience who were tweeting, and they felt much the same as I did. Instant community within a large crowd of strangers. Very cool.

Week 8: Cloud Computing
Here again, I’ve been a proponent of Cloud Computing since before it had that name. Our office uses Google Apps to collaborate and cooperate with people from around the world; one of our major projects, KLOW, is hosted in an Amazon cloud environment, and is working very well. Like.

Week 9: IM
I could wax poetic about IM, but it is perhaps the most useful and constantly used tools in the bunch for me. It’s faboo: instant communication with any internet connected party, and I don’t have to talk on the phone. Win.

There, I think that catches me up to date. Whew. Now I need a nap. 😉

Leave a Reply

